Built in the Dutch
neo-Renaissance style as the Bloemhof Girls’ School,
just as the Boys’ High School in Victoria Street
opposite the new Conservatoire. It now houses the
37 Ryneveld Street
Jan Beyers of the farm Nooitgedacht near Stellenbosch,
built this as a retirement house in the late Victorian
style. It subsequently served as a girls’ hostel. It
was carefully restored in 1991 as the administrative
headquarters and reference library of the widely
scattered Stellenbosch Museum. The name commemorates the
birthplace of the German ancestor of the Beyers family.
by the then sizeable local Jewish community.
44 Ryneveld Street
unique Victorian facade incorporates the end gables of
an eighteenth century H-plan thatched house. Its oblique
position betrays an intermittent stream on the southern
side and an old farm road on its western side.
(NOW "NEETHLINGHUIS") (1908)
31 Ryneveld Street
by Jan Beyers as a boarding house for girls attending
Bloemhof. It now houses municipal offices.
DE WIT HOUSE
(Early 19th century)
only intact example of an imposing set of live adjoining
neo-classical buildings, four of which were double
storeys. On the adjoining modem archway is featured the
municipal coat of arms, while the latter in turn abuts
on a marble frieze, adjacent to the entrance to the
Public Library, commemorating the arrival of the
Huguenots in 1688. These tableaux depict their
Departure, the Sea Crossing and the Settlement, and were
designed and sculpted in 1942 by Ivan Mitford-Barberton
(1896 - 1976).
series of buildings, consisting of a main hall, banquet
hall, municipal offices and public library, was designed
in a neo-Cape Dutch style, embellished by elements of
the Classical Revival style for greater dignity. On the
opposite side of Plein Street can be seen a
reconstructed archway reminiscent of Stellenbosch gables
of the late eighteenth century. A simple example from
this period is to be seen at the Rhenish parsonage.