NEWS

SPORT

WEATHER

OUR MISSION

Click on a historic building of your choice for more info. Alternatively, scroll down for info on all the featured buildings.
Click on "top" to return to this part of the page

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

 
OOM SAMIE SE WINKEL VREDENLUST (1814)
KRIGE’S COTTAGES (ca. 1900) ACKERMAN HOUSE (1815)
ROOKSKIP LIBERTAS PARVA
FARM LABOURERS’ COTTAGES
 

OOM SAMIE SE WINKEL

84/82 Dorp Street

This was a typical rural shop before chain stores made their appearance. The name relates to Samie Volsteedt, a bachelor and previous owner of the shop, who lived in the house next door.

top

VREDENLUST (1814)

63 Dorp Street

The H-plan house was erected ca. 1781, with a unique roof balustrade, (more typical of a double-storey flat roofed house) probably imitating a similar feature of the drostdy of 1768. Note the outbuildings on both sides and the picturesque wall around the farmyard.
 

KRIGE’S COTTAGES (ca. 1900)

51-37 Dorp Street

These corrugated iron roofed semi-detached houses with gables and wrought iron verandas were erected by Willie Krige who farmed on Vredenlust.
 

ACKERMAN HOUSE (1815)

50/48 Dorp Street

This house was radically altered when it had a corrugated roof added, shortly before Jan Christiaan Smuts (later General and Prime Minister of South Africa) was a boarder here while studying at the university. Here too he met his future wife, Issie Krige, whose parents lived diagonally across the street in Libertas Parva. During the restoration of 1971 the projecting shop front (as depicted on an old photograph) was reconstructed.
 

ROOKSKIP

c/o Dorp and Papegaai Street

Originally an outbuilding on the farm De Hoop, the homestead of which was demolished, the nickname ("smoke stacks") refers to the many chimneys, reminiscent of those of a steam ship, that were added when the building was converted into a row of cottages.

top

LIBERTAS PARVA (LITTLE LIBERTAS)

33 - 25 Dorp Street

This H-plan farm homestead dates from ca. 1783, judging by its lovely rolling end gables. The present front gable dates from the late Georgian period, when the twin front doors and large pane windows were added. The name refers to the property that was formerly part of the farm Libertas. It presently serves as an important art gallery displaying inter alia a unique and beautiful panorama of Cape Town, in 1808.
Open: Mondays to Fridays:09:00 - 12:45, 14:00 - 17:00; Saturdays: 10:00 - 13:00, 14:00 - 17:00
The cellar behind houses a wine and cork museum with artefacts dating back to the ancient (pre-Christian) era.
Open: Mondays to Fridays: 09:00 - 12:45, 14:00 - 17:00; Saturdays: 10:00 - 13:00
 

FARM LABOURERS’ COTTAGES

Aan de Wagenweg

Designed by Sir Herbert Baker at the request of Cecil John Rhodes, who owned the farm Vredenburg near by. Now the Volkskombuis Restaurant.
HOME

TOURISTS

SUB-WEBS