NEWS

SPORT

WEATHER

OUR MISSION

Click on a historic building of your choice for more info. Alternatively, scroll down for info on all the featured buildings.
Click on "top" to return to this part of the page

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

 
RHENISH CORNER V.O.C. KRUITHUIS (1777)
RHENISH INSTITUTE RHENISH MISSIONARY CHURCH (1823)
FICK HOUSE (BURGHER HOUSE (1797) LANKHOFF COTTAGÉ 
LAETITIA WINELANDS DISTRICT COUNCIL BUILDING (1935)
DROSTDY CENTRE ST MARY’S "ON THE BRAAK"
BERGZICHT DE WET ALLEY

RHENISH CORNER

36 Market Street

After thirty years this is still the most comprehensive restoration project ever undertaken in Stellenbosch. These nineteenth century buildings house inter alia a Toy and Miniature Museum in the neo-classical parsonage-of 1815.
Open: Mondays to Sundays 09:30 -17:00. Entrance fee
Behind the parsonage the tall gables of the Leipoldt House (ca.1830) are excellent examples of the last stage of early Cape architecture.
 

V.O.C. KRUITHUIS (POWDER HOUSE)(1777)

corner of Bloem and Market Streets

The unique form of this sturdy structure, with its fireproof brick roof (barrel vault) and high enclosing wall, reflects its function as a repository of arms. Above the loft window can be seen the graceful "V.O.C. - Cabo" monogram of the Dutch East India Company, that would become bankrupt within eighteen years! Now a military museum.
Open: Mondays to Fridays: 09:30 - 13:00. Entrance fee
 

RHENISH INSTITUTE (PJ. OLIVIER ART CENTRE)

3 Bloem Street

Originally an H-plan gabled house of 1787, it was converted in 1862 into a double-storey flat-roof hostel, and subsequently extended on both sides, to provide accommodation the children of Rhenish parishioners. Art exhibitions are held in the front hall and at times also in other rooms.

top

RHENISH MISSIONARY CHURCH (1823)

Bloem Street

Initially a rectangular hall, it was erected on a piece of ground earmarked for a racing clubhouse. The hall served to accommodate the crowds of "slaves and heathen" who came to listen to the enthusiastic Amsterdam missionary (and later Voortrekker parson) Erasmus Smit. After the founding in Germany of the Rhenish Missionary Society in 1828, the Rev. Paul Daniel Lückhoff assumed his duties in 1830. The emancipation of slaves in 1838 caused the congregation to grow to the extent that a northern wing was added in 1840. A magnificent baroque pulpit from the Stellenbosch Dutch Reformed Church, carved by Simon Londt of Cape Town in 1853, was ten years later donated to this daughter congregation when the "Mother Church’ was "gothicised". Today both the building and the pulpit are declared national monuments.
 

FICK HOUSE (BURGHER HOUSE (1797)

40 Bloem Street

This is a modest H-plan house with casement windows, and top- and bottom doors (the oldest Cape pattern). As was the case with the exterior woodwork, the plaster architrave was also originally painted green, imitating earlier wooden prototypes. The front gable is the oldest neo-classical example in Stellenbosch, and is characterised by a triangular pediment that rests on a projecting wall and surrounding winged scrolls. After the Rev. Ltickhoff had purchased the property in 1839, a school was accommodated in a former part of the house. The beautifully furnished interior is on view during office hours.
 

LANKHOFF COTTAGÉ (COACHMAN’S COTTAGE)(ca. 1791)

40 Alexander Street

Built by a German tailor as a "compressed" H-plan house under a single tall roof. Instead of two end gables on either side, there is consequently only one gable; unusually tall, but as charming as that of the Leipoldt house.

top

LAETITIA

44 Alexander Street

This renovated house, and also its recently reconstructed double-storey neighbour, probably has a history similar to that of Lankhoff Cottagé. The top floors in both cases date from the late nineteenth century.
 

WINELANDS DISTRICT COUNCIL BUILDING (1935)

46 Alexander Street

Modern offices in a neo-Cape style that to some extent overshadow the historical buildings in its vicinity.
 

DROSTDY CENTRE

48 Alexander Street

This was initially a T-shaped neo-classical gabled house with an interesting subsequent history; all signs of which, apart from a "victory arch" in Bird Street, have been destroyed.
 

ST MARY’S "ON THE BRAAK"

"The Braak"

This was the first neo-gothic building in Stellenbosch, although the whitewashed walls and thatched roof are typical of the Cape style. The cruciform ground plan dates from 1885, while the contemporary stained glass windows commemorate prominent families belonging to the Anglican congregation.

top

BERGZICHT

Bird Street

This was one of the earliest Stellenbosch farms, initially adjacent to the village, but now incorporated. The surrounding wall and buildings date from the late eighteenth century and were recently restored. Facing the street, a replica of the 1762 front gable of the Briers house (demolished to make way for the City Hall) was erected by the City Council as an "act of contrition."
 

DE WET ALLEY

Andringa, Plein or Bird Street

This pedestrian alley cuts diagonally across a street block, which follows the millstream on its way to the third Stellenbosch mill, built in 1749 on the southern side of the present Rhenish Church. Flower sellers now add a touch of colour to this once picturesque neighbourhood inhabited by craftsmen.
HOME

TOURISTS

SUB-WEBS